Vacations…can you relax?

27 09 2008

Because I live in Hawaii I tend to get a lot of visitors.  My family and close friends know that they have a place to stay to save on expenses.  This past Tuesday I went to the airport to pick my parents up for a three week vacation.  Now I absolutely love being around my parents, but I wondered how I was going to keep up my writing and work hours.

Isn’t that a funny thing?  Here I am surrounded by my family and I am worried about working? 

I took my parents to the gym yesterday with me and afterwards we just wondered around a few stores.  By the time we were sitting eating a bite of lunch I had this little anxiousness come over me as if to say “you are spending too much time doing nothing!  Get home and work!”  How crazy is that! When I noticed it I just let it go and realized I really didn’t have any place to be, but in the present place and I could stay as long as I wanted!

It was so freeing to realize that!  Being an at home entrapraneur you really get to have this freedom. But sometimes we lose sight of that and work just as long and just as hard forgetting that we can live our life with the ability to take a vacation and RELAX!

So I ask you.  First of all, when was the last vacation you took?  I don’t know the exact percentage, but I know it’s high of people who do not take their vacation time each year.  And for those of us who do, can you relax?  Can you be totally in the present moment with no thoughts as to what is going on back at the office?  At the exact moment that I let that anxiety go I felt such freedom!  Freedom that I could then enjoy a day of absolutely no work and just being around family!  It felt so good!

The cool thing is I’ve been able to play in the morning and evenings and still do my things in the afternoons!  Life does work out!  Enjoy every moment and when you have time to take a vacation whether just around town or beyond do so and relax!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

