All we have are todays….

18 08 2008

I am up early this Monday morning thinking of the things I have got to do today.  Some people dread Mondays when they have to go back to work or start “the same old thing” over again for the week.  I love Mondays.  I look forward to them.  For me Mondays are another chance for starting things on the right path of where I want to go.

Mondays, are kind of a clean slate for me.  A week that has just begun.  No telling what I can accomplish and make happen this week. In fact everyday for me is like a Monday.  I get up early and walk into the kitchen and turn on my computer.  I hear the birds singing and the roosters crowing.  Living here in Hawaii this is also the time of day when the air is cool and the energy of the sun is renewing and vibrant before it gets intense and harsh.  I love this time of day.

I have also been thinking about a lesson I heard in church yesterday.  In fact, I heard it there and then read an article on the topic again in a magazine later on in the day.  It must have been destiny for me to focus on it for a while. And so I share it with you.

Todays…. All we have are todays.  Haven’t we all heard this before.  There is a line in a song that reads, “Today, today, work for today..there is no tomorrow, but only today.” No tomorrows only todays.  Think about that.  We walk around everyday in our lives not knowing if we are even going to be here today.  Accidents happen in life.  No one is guaranteed a free ticket living into old age.  And yet, we mostly go about our lives as if we ,with assurety, will live our lives long.  I think of this sometimes when I look at my children.  Their father died almost six years ago very unexpectedly.  They never got a chance for a goodbye.  My duaghter has fought back anger for this for many years.

I tell you this not for pity, but for the message… all we have are todays.  What are we putting of that we could do, TODAY? Who could we help, TODAY? Could we hug our kids a little closer, TODAY?  How about business.  Have you been waiting to try something new?  Do it TODAY! Is there a business you’d like to start?  Do it TODAY!  How much time have you wasted in past regrets?  I don’t know about you but my TODAY list just got a little bit bigger and my excitement for the week a little bit more intense.  I feel it in the core of my being.  Life is fabulous my friends.  And if you are in the dump of dumps change it!

TODAY!

Yours in todays….. heather browing

Actions

Information

One response

21 08 2008
Tracy Crowe

It is certainly true that today is all we have. We get into trouble when we focus on all the bad things that happened to us in the past, and then assume that they will continue to happen in the future. We think we can foretell the future. But the past and the future are just mental images. All that is real is the present moment. And if we always do our best in the present moment, then the future will take care of itself.

Leave a Reply

